The Summer of 2019

For a year now I’ve been studying Multi-Media Design (can’t blame that for a slow update rate, I’m just not a super-quick writer) and I’m approaching a point where I need to look for internship and more work experience, and also display my portfolio.

Currently my plan is to convert this blog into a place for both my writing work, my graphical design work and my portfolio. The exact structure is a complete mystery, even to me, but I’ll work towards a good hybrid between the three, or some segmentation that works.

To start, over the summer vacation between 2. and 3. semester I did a lot of design work both to improve my skills and portfolio, but also plain to avoid my ‘skills’ rusting away from lack of use.

So here’s a big dump of my graphical work, most of which is inspired by other things but done by me, with a few exceptions as will be noted next to the pieces in question.

I should stress that all of these are pet projects, and no one has earned a dime on any of these designs.

Ergo Proxy is a very interesting and, thematically, quite weird japanese animation show. The premise is a woman hunting service androids-gone-rogue in the city of Romdeau, but it moves beyond that within a couple episodes.

I tried to make a Constructivist poster such as one you might find inside the city itself, if they had posters and not giant, round computer screens.

A long-running project I’ve been working on is seeing the origins of the japanese animation franchise, Mobile Suit Gundam, a franchise largely about the realities of war, life in space and massive war-robots shooting lasers and swinging lightsabers.

Here is a Bauhaus-style take on Earth Federation ‘nationalist’ posters, probably before the One Year War. Initially the blue cylinders, representing the colonies subservient to Earth, were green but that made them look like food pellets for rabbits, so I changed the colour and eventually added a grainy layer to simulate the look of posters for the 1981 animated show.

A postcard in an Art Deco-style for the crime-ridden city of Roanapur from the japanese animation show, Black Lagoon.

If you’ve noticed a recurring trend of japanese animation in these, it just happened. It’s a part of my life and thus I take a lot of inspiration from it, but the summer project was not necessarily supposed to be all about japanese animation.

.hack//GU is, in part, about a computer virus that starts having very real-world effects, and I corrupted a news-post with the AIDA virus from the game franchise to make this surrealist piece. I’m admittedly not a huge fan, but I like the idea of the text melting and running off down to the right and text being shunted about and replaced by the rampant virus.

A Swiss Style, or Typographic Style, poster for the upcoming game Elden Ring by (yes, again) japanese game studio, From Software.

Technically the game’s title is just Elden Ring but I didn’t like how it turned out so I took some creative liberty with the title.

Another Swiss Style poster, this time also with a minimalist touch. The coloured lines transforming into rainbows is to symbolise the crew growing from their time throughout the show Cowboy Bebop.

Yes, I made it quite artsy.

There’s no greater meaning to this, it just came about and I quite like it, how only the purple, CMYK code as the title, is allowed to cross the boundry.

A pop-art piece for Cowboy Bebop, it’s kinda like the titular Bebop riding high on the waves. The center piece is a recoloured picture from the show. I tried making a pen-shape in a few attempts but I could never get to one I preferred over the cutout.

Stephen King’s The Dark Tower is a book series I’ve been reading for years now, slowly chugging through. The character Eddie remarks, in Wolves of the Calla, on an in-setting connection that inspired this piece.

Leave a comment